Addison Blockhouse State Park is located in a wooded area accessed by boat seen here in the treeline of the Tomoka Basin. This is a unique and quiet place to visit with two sites on it, one is the Addison Blockhouse which was a makeshift fort during the Second Seminole War, the other is the McRae Sugar Mill. For anyone wishing to visit including state park passport holders please contact...
Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.
- Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
- Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
- Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer
Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park
Welcome to Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park
This site houses the ruins of a 19th century plantation owned by John Addison, which thrived from 1816 to 1836 when it was burned in the Seminole wars. The small coquina rock blockhouse was originally an outside kitchen. After the plantation was burned, the Carolina Regiment of Volunteers fortified the abandoned building for defense against further Seminole attacks. Although the foundation is from the 19th century, the upper part of the blockhouse was added in the 1920s. The site also contains the ruins of a house foundation with tabby (a mixture of lime, sand, shells, and water) floors, and a well-constructed of coquina rock. Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park is currently inaccessible, with exception of a landing along the west bank of the Tomoka River.
One of the most picturesque ruins in Volusia County is the Addison Blockhouse which lies deep in the flatwoods on the west side of the Tomoka River. This small coquina rock ruin is roofless, with one small round tower on one corner. Inside the blockhouse is a large fireplace. The walls of the building rise about six feet the tops of the walls have somewhat of a "battlemented" appearance with an embankment and bastions-like moat extending around the blockhouse.